Oatfield House Banner
home page button
accommodation page button
photograph page button
tariff page button
reviews page button
directions page button
contact us page button
history page button
links page button
graphic spacer
photo of lane
 

 

 

What our guests have to say about us:-


“Proper country house!”
Reviewed 25 September 2017
This is a lovely country house B&B - the hosts are so welcoming and the location so tranquil. Really enjoyed my short stay here - and the breakfast was delicious. Hope to get the opportunity to come back and enjoy the house for a longer period of time and explore the local area.

“A wonderful find just outside Campbeltown”
Reviewed 18 September 2017
Oatfield Country House is truly a wonderful place to spend some time. The house has fantastic old world charm, from the high ceilings, wood panelling to the roaring open fire that we sat in front of to have coffee in the evening. The bedroom was warm, cosy and had wonderful views across the walled garden. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and did everything to make our stay an enjoyable experience. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented.

“A peaceful place to stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2017
If you want a peaceful and welcoming place to stay in the Campbeltown area this place fits the bill. Large, clean rooms with friendly hosts and an ample breakfast. Would readily recommend to others.

“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 12 July 2017
We had a wonderful stay at Oatfield House. The only downside was we couldn't stay longer!
We flew in to Campbeltown airport as part of a little trip we were doing. Despite being slightly earlier than planned we received a very warm welcome from John and Lesley, with tea and biscuits in our own sitting room! The house is just gorgeous, the rooms are very comfortable with all the amenities you could need. We got a taxi in to Campbeltown for dinner (it's only a very short journey so didn't cost much at all). Breakfast was delicious with porridge, cereals and fry up on offer. Lesley was very knowledgeable about the local area and recommended a walk which we did which had incredible views out across Kintyre to Islay and Jura. Then to top it all off John very kindly gave us a lift back to the airport. I can't recommend this place enough, it was definitely worth being slightly out of town to stay in a wonderful house in gorgeous countryside.

“Beautiful B&B”
Reviewed 30 June 2017
A very nice old house with modern amenities.
We stayed for 2 nights in the room with shower and it was just brilliant.
Large room with a nice view towards the back garden.
Leslie is a very kind host who knows a lot about the vicinity.
The B&B is closely located towards Campbeltown.
There is a lot to see in the surrounding and Campbeltown is really a great place.
We would really like to come back again and there is no need to stay somewhere else, as Oatfield House has it all.
Last but not least the room was very clean , which is a big plus !

“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 7 May 2017
We spent five days in this peaceful house, surrounded by countryside. Rooms are beautiful and spaceful, breakfast is hearty. Lesley is a great host, really kind and helpful. We totally recommend this bed and breakfast and hope to come back one day !

“Oatfield House a visit after many years still wonderful !”
Reviewed 13 April 2017
Oatfield house is a wonderful Atmospheric country house B and B set in fantastic peaceful countryside. Oh so wonderfully quiet. Hosts Lesley and John are charming and very happy to share the history of their wonderful home. There are walks and views within the estate which are within minutes reach and being very centrally situated its a great base for touring the Kintyre region. Machranhanish and Southend beaches a short drive and the town of Campbeltown similarly. I have visited Oatfield for over 50 years in various tenure , now with Lesley and John its a fantastic home and B and B to spend time visiting again.

“Beautiful, quiet, country home”
Reviewed 6 October 2016
We stayed at this Manor House for two nights and wished it could have been longer. Everything about the stay was wonderful, especially the fire in the evenings and, in the mornings, the very best PORRIDGE in Scotland!! Lovely hosts as well!

“Quiet place, central for all a lot of tours in Kintyre”
Reviewed 4 September 2016
We had a wonderful 3 nights stay at Oatfied House b&b. From the very kind welcome, the large room with view to the gardens with bird feeding, the cosy lounge (the fireside was lit for us!) to the delicious breakfast everything was perfect. The b&b is off the street reachable by a private road and thus quiet. On the other hand you only need 5 minutes of driving to go to the central of campbeltown. Our recommendation for a stay in Kintyre!

“A step into Scottish classical life.”
Reviewed 23 August 2016
The drive into Oatfield House is marked by trees on either side of the gate. Oatfield is the second house down the lane, the one furthest back. Sheep and horses on one end, a lovely lawn with a pond on the other, and the great house in between. Lesley and Will (one son) met us. Will took the bags up. Lesley made us tea in the sitting room. The warmth and comfort of the hospitality and setting extended upstairs to our rooms, all decorated with bits from around the world, and every room with shelves of books to choose from on your stay. I read a whole book downstairs in the sitting room while sipping tea and gazing out over the lawn. The bed was comfortable, the shower water hot, and the heated towel rack was very nice when trying to dry out a few things. The breakfast was just as we asked for. The porridge delicious and the tea perfect. Loved the location near Machrihanish Golf Club and can't wait to go back!

“A wonderful, peaceful place”
Reviewed 11 August 2016
We stayed in Oatfiled during 4 nights The guest house is wonderful, the breakfast excellent, the room cosy, the bed so comfortable and Lesley is a so welcoming person, always attentive to the wellness of her guests. We totally recommend this marvellous place in the countryside, so quiet and in a place out of the beaten tracks.

“Like a dream!”
Reviewed 26 July 2016
When we arrived at the address and drove up the avenue and saw this Scottish country house, we thought! There is something wrong! We do not belong to the class! But OK. We rang the bell and could hear a real bell in the house. We were excited about that now came a butler with high hat to serve us. But it was more than that! The Lady of the house opened and received us warmly and friendly in the large hall with the stairs as we know it from the British TV series. We were assigned our room with its history of who before had spent the night in this magnificent room with open fireplace. Then we were offered tea / coffee in the living room with TV and library. Yes, it was a welcome we do not forget. Next morning we had breakfast in the dining room, surrounded by pictures and things from a rich family life as the lady kindly told about. We had too little time to look over the beautiful landscape of Kintyre but we highly recommend Oatfield well as the beautiful and exciting surroundings

“Perfect stay at the tip of Kintyre.”
Reviewed 5 July 2016
Very friendly people did receive us in the beautifully positioned country house. Very quiet
and good clean rooms and relaxing beds. Impeccable service, log fire and the works! Highly recommended. Just go!

“Oatfield Country House”
Reviewed 7 June 2016
Our stay at Oatfield Country House was a pleasant experience while visiting the Cambpeltown. We came to the area the play golf at Machrishanish Golf Club and were delighted that we found Oatfiled Country House B&B. Leslie and John were welcoming hosts, and we felt at home from the minute we arrived until we left. The key in any experience is whether to return and do it again. We most certainly hope to return to the area, and when we do the Oatfield Country House B&B will be our residence of choice.

“So schön...”
Reviewed 1 June 2016
Zwar etwas abgeschieden gelegen - aber leicht zu finden liegt diese wunderbare Haus. Die Gastgeberin ist eine sehr nette und gesprächige Dame, die einen einlädt sich zu Hause zu fühlen - man kommt schnell mit den anderen Gästen ins Gespräch - einfach zum Wohlfühlen. Das Zimmer war sauber und super stilvoll eingerichte - das Frühstück hervorragend - sehr gerne wieder! Sehr empfehlenswert

“I give 5 stars!”
”Reviewed 31 May 2016
It was a pleasure for us staying in your “castle“. The rooms were clean, big and lovely, the breakfast was fantastic and your friendly, warm and open welcome let us feel as a part of your family !
I give 5 stars at all.  We will come back sometime !

“Sehr familiäres B&B in traumhafter Umgebung”
Reviewed 28 May 2016
Wir hatten einen tollen Aufenthalt im Oatfield-House, die Zimmer sind klasse und das Frühstück war fantastisch. Die Familie war sehr herzlich und freundlich und zuvorkommend. Uns wurde ein altes Hotel in Campbeltown empfohlen, was ein gutes Abendessen bot, in toller Atmosphäre (Warten auf das Essen außerhalb des Speisesaales...), außerdem ist die Besichtigung der Springbank-Destillery ein Muß, da so individuell und persönlich ! Vom Longrow ganz zu schweigen.
Wir kommen wieder ! Gruß von den Hinrichs und Themer aus German
y

“Great Stay”
Reviewed 14 May 2016
Very welcoming. Lovely room with views of the garden. Great breakfast. Our hostess lit the fire so it was there after we got back from dinner. We also had tea and biscuits made for us. A very tranquil stay. Would definitely recommend.

“Great old house and attentive hosts”
Reviewed 2 May 2016
We spent a delightful few days here in the twin room which was comfortable, clean and well equipped. The house is old with no double glazing so the electric blanket was an added bonus as was the open fire in the living room each evening. Our attentive hosts made us feel at home and we were really well looked after. We both really enjoyed the vegetarian cooked breakfast which ticked all the boxes.
Unlike many places that offer free wifi it also came with a good internet connection so essential when exploring a new area, especially one with a poor 3G/4G signal.

“Superb place to stay!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2016
Lovely room, great hosts, log fires in the evenings, outstanding sleep, wonderful breakfasts... very happy indeed! We've stayed in many places on our trip but this was by far the best and the first ever to inspire us to put a review on trip advisor. We loved it!

“brilliant”
Reviewed 20 September 2015
Gorgeous house, very grand, great surroundings. Room was large and clean with free WIFI, The house was very spacious and lovely host. Wonderful breakfast..Good location for Mull of Kintyre and not far from Campbletown.

“perfect stay at Oatfield House!”
Reviewed 13 September 2015
My parents and my self stayed at this house for a week and everything could not have been better. Rooms were very good and clean and breakfast was consistently of a very high standard. The hosts did everything they could to make our stay as good as they could - tea and biscuits and an open fire lit every evening on our return to the house. A very cosy and lovely stay indeed!

“Wunderbar, sehr freundlich, tolles Preis-Leistungsverhältnis”
Reviewed 6 September 2015
Dieses B&B ist sehr schön, die Besitzer sind sehr freundlich und sind äußerst behilflich. Die Zimmer sind groß und traditionell eingerichtet. Die Bäder sind, je nach Zimmer, groß und mit allen nötigen bestückt. Ebenso ist immer alles sehr sauber. Der Aufenthaltsraum sowie der Frühstückraum sind sehr geschmackvoll eingerichtet und man wird bestens versorgt. Preis -Leistung ist sehr gut. Bleibe meist dort übernacht wenn ich in Campbeltown bin

“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 2 September 2015
We have just had a wonderful stay at Oatfield House. It was a real holiday. The house is beautiful (like straight out of a Jane Austen novel), set in its own grounds and has maintained its traditional magic but with the up-to-date necessities of modern day life such as wifi and en-suite bathrooms.
Every night we sat in front of a roaring log fire, followed by an excellent night’s sleep and then a hearty breakfast in the panelled dining room - superb. The location, in the countryside close to Campbeltown, is a perfect balance between rural peace/tranquility and accessibility/sight-seeing. Lesley is a genuinely warm host and looked after us very well - lots of cups of tea and coffee - attentive, yet unobtrusive. Oatfield House is a real treasure and we very much look forward to planning our next visit!

“First Class”
Reviewed 19 August 2015
Stayed here for one night en route to our caravan. We could not have had a more welcoming experience. Nothing was too much trouble. The owner was very friendly but discreet. The house is just beautiful and everything of a high quality. There were lots of interesting mementoes on the walls and the house felt like a comfortable family home - not too impersonal.
We had booked a twin room but it was no problem at all to switch to a double. Both rooms were excellent. Our hostess offered to light the log fire and quickly produced tea and chocolate biscuits. We were told about the Wi-Fi and the breakfast arrangements.
The bed was comfortable and the bedlinen and towels of good quality. Feather duvet was the best quality, but I would have preferred a synthetic one for allergy reasons. That is just personal preference not a criticism. Lashings of hot water so enjoyed a luxurious bath in the very spacious en-suite bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided in the room and a plate of Penguins and other chocolate biscuits.
Breakfast was served in the opulent dining room and again there was everything we could have wished for served in a cheerful manner.
Absolutely faultless. I will definitely stay there again. No evening meals are served but Campbeltown is a very short drive away. If you're looking for a country house hotel without paying exorbitant prices, this would be an ideal place to stay.

“Beautiful, warm and extraordinary!”
Reviewed 25 July 2015
Our hosts gave us a warm welcome, were more than friendly and ready to help or to give us a lift into town whenever we needed it. At the same time, they were authentic, discret and respected our private sphere in a perfect way. The house and the surroundings are beautiful, the breakfast was delicious. We hope to return soon!

“The oatfield b&b campbeltown”
Reviewed 24 July 2015
Stayed here with 5 friends again on the 23/07/15 . and once again what a lovely b&b .Lesley & family made us most welcome .great location to play golf machrinhanish . machrinhanish dunes . which are only minutes away .and its only 16 minutes to dunaverty golf club . it's ideal .and you won't be disappointed .we look forward to our next visit .

“Like being at home.....”
Reviewed 14 July 2015
My wife, our little biy and I stayed at different nice B&Bs but very few were like feeling at home. Oatfield was one of those.
Location is fantastic, very quiet, in the charming countryside of the Kintyre peninsula.
The house, the room, the garden were amazing. Breakfast was superb.
The Cowan family are excellent hosts and we felt like being part of the family.
We couldn't ask for more.
Hope to come back soon

“Excellent overnight stay”
Reviewed 12 July 2015
This is a beautiful house in a quiet location just a few miles from the town centre. Full of period features yet very comfortable. Lesley is a very welcoming host and happy to meet your requests for breakfast as well as supply ample tea/coffee.
I would return here if in the area again.

“Excellent overnight stay”
Reviewed 24 June 2015
My wife and I with our daughter, son-in-law and grandaughter stayed in two rooms for one night in May and were impressed by the warm and welcoming reception we received. The rooms were very comfortable and nothing seemed too much trouble. We had to have a relatively early start to catch the 9.00 ferry to Islay and an early breakfast was provided. It is certainly top of our list for a stay if we are back in Campbelltown area again.

“Like home !”
Reviewed 13 June 2015
Warm and friendly welcome, like members of the family living away !
A wonderful family home, with old furniture, wide wooden staircase, soft carpet everywhere, bright and comfortable room with a firm and soft bed and a bathroom with a large tub, and full and delicious vegetarian breakfast after a restful night !
Thanks a lot to our charming hostess for this lovely stay !

“Golf at Machrihanish”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 via mobile
Excellent stay, very comfortable, warm and clean. Stayed with my dad for the weekend last week and Lesley was a great host with a full cooked breakfast each morning and aga cooked porridge! Thoroughly recommend. Would stay again when coming to machrihanish.

“Brilliant B&B”
Reviewed 25 May 2015
We stayed at Oatfeld House for 3 nights & couldn't have had a better time.The house is wonderful full of original features and very homely including a real fire in the stting room.. We were made very welcome and really look forward to a return visit. The house is set in beautiful grounds with a bluebell wood- it is so different to many hotels we have stayed in & highly recommend a visit.

“A home from home - only much better !”
Reviewed 11 May 2015
My friend and I spent one night at Oatfield House while walking the Kintyre Way. We arrived wet and tired. Warmly greeted by the lady of the house we instantly felt at home in this wonderful house. Knowing that we wouldn't have had the chance to eat an evening meal she went above and beyond the call of duty and provided us with a warm meal and bottle of red - charging us cost price (so very generous !) which we consumed in front of a roaring fire in the splendid yet cosy visitors lounge. Our room was extremely comfortable and the en suite shower piping hot ! Breakfast - served in the glorious dining room - was delicious and plentiful. We were also provided with bread and cheese to make sandwiches for our day ahead - an extremely thoughtful gesture. Indeed we had expected bed and breakfast but got dinner and lunch thrown in too ! The gentleman of the house was good enough to drop us off at the start of the next stretch of our walk.
In short whilst Oatfield House is just outside Campbelltown , miss it and you miss out - big time ! Do yourself a favour give the larger hotel type establishments a body swerve and stay here. You'll be glad you did.
I'd be happy to walk the entire length of the Kintyre way again for the chance to pay another visit.Now that is saying something !

“Absolutely first rate establishment!”
Reviewed 9 May 2015
An absolutely first rate establishment featuring wood and coal fires in the lounge on those nippy evenings, elegant architecture, a well appointed interior, and a charming and amenable hostess in Lesley. Pay attention to the various artwork and pictures.
For golfers, Oatfield House is perfectly situated to have quick access to the three best courses in the area; Machrihanish, Macrihanish Dunes, and Dunaverty. This is especially true once you discover the shortcut that goes past the airport and thus bypasses Campbeltown. Speaking of which, Oatfield House is practically next door to it and so provides easy access. Highly recommended and I know that I hope to return to Oatfield House
.

“Kintyre way 5 day walk”
Reviewed 5 May 2015
Walking the length and breadth of Kintyre as part of the Kintyre way we had only good experiences of our pre booked accommodation. Oatfield House however wins our stay of the week prize. Beautiful and classy, yet unpretentious. For walking types ticks all of the boxes. Welcoming arrival, roaring fire and pot of tea. Lovely room, feather duvets, electric blankets......everything catered for including a bottle of red and light meal ( not usual and please do not assume to expect ) but available the night we were there. Our tired faces must have said it all! Beautiful house and surroundings . Reminded me of a shooting lodge. For walkers, a little off piste, but a bus from Campbeltown can drop you at the end of the drive. The owner was very generous in giving us a lift the next morning back to our route. (Again, please do not expect but lovely gesture for us). As 3 in a bed voting would say - would you visit again ? Oh yes !!

“Beautiful and welcoming”
Reviewed 26 April 2015
I very much enjoyed my stay and had a peaceful and relaxing time. The owners are kind and friendly and the building itself is even more spectacular than the photos make out. For me the location is ideal, with the surrounding area having an unspoiled rich and diverse range of wildlife. In summary, I would highly recommend staying here and look forward to return visits.

“Great welcoming break at a lovely old house!”
Reviewed 9 March 2015
Oatfield House is a lovely old mansion in a rural setting near the Mull of Kintyre. The welcome was great, as were the rooms. The very private off road parking was important to us as we have a classic car and we had a glorious couple of days exploring the area. The weather seemed to be much better here than the rest of the country during our visit. A not uncommon phenomenon according to our hosts. A relaxing stay at a slower pace of life. Couldn’t have been happier!

“Wonderful stay and great beaches...”
Reviewed 27 February 2015
Stayed for four nights at Oatfield House, Campbeltown. A lovely big old house, bags of character but with all mod cons. Made to feel very welcome and really well looked after. Nothing was too much trouble. Open fire every night, trays of tea or coffee when we arrived and later too, great british breakfast, lovely hostess (Lesley). The area was fantastic, a hidden and unspoilt corner of Scotland. Magnificent beaches everywhere we went. An interesting (!) drive up to the Mull of Kintyre and then an easy walk down to the light house… followed by a struggle back up. Visited the distillery, Davaar Island, Saddell Castle (not open to the public, but very atmospheric) and beach (where the video for Paul McCartneys Mull of Kintyre was filmed). A wonderful stay. Totally relaxing and so glad we took the time. I don’t normally do reviews, but this was a bit special. “Chust sublime!”, as Parahandy would have said.

“Fantastic stay in an idyllic country house”
Reviewed 17 January 2015
A warm welcome by owner Lesley was made even warmer by a REAL log fire and coffee in the sitting room. One of the main reasons we came to Kintyre was to hike and lesley's son's, who are keen hikers, gave us lots of secret knowledge for places to go. A Big breakfast, plenty of private parking, lovely host and lots of hikes to still discover means we will be back to Oatfield at some point soon.

“Schönes B+B abseits der Stadt”
Reviewed 26 August 2014
Das Oatfield-House liegt ca. 5 Fahrminuten außerhalb von Campbeltown an der Strecke zum Mull of Kyntire. Die Einfahrt zum Haus erinnert etwas an den Vorspann zur TV-Serie Dallas, liegt es doch etwas zurückgesetzt. Das Haus an sich war einfach traumhaft. Hohe Decken, Stuck, ein wunderschönes Treppenhaus und dazu Gastgeber die sich wirklich um Ihre Gäste kümmern und immer bei fragen zur Verfügung stehen. Das britische Frühstück war gut und vollkommend ausreichend. Wir kommen gerne wieder!!!

"hospitality in a beautiful house"
Reviewed 31 July 2014.
Hospitality is paramount here. The owners will make you feel right at home here. In the evening the fire goes on; Morning there is a good breakfast. A very quiet place, away from traffic noise. Kintyre has a lot to offer for hikers and cyclists.

"Golfing"
Reviewed 20 July 2014
If your planning a golf trip to machrinhanish or just visiting .you will find staying at the oatfield b&b a dream , lovely location, beautiful house &gardens ,rooms are spotless ,and the owner Lesley was brilliant . thank you Lesley

“Terrific experience”
Reviewed 21 June 2014
Loved Oatfield House. Setting beautiful, house very interesting, host and hostess warm and welcoming. Loved watching the little rabbits on the lawn each morning and evening. Terrific experience. Highly recommend a stay.


“romantic scotland!”

Reviewed 2 June 2014
wonderful b&b. so very friendly. cozy, clean, great breakfast. the rooms are beautiful, also the grounds and walks. ponies, bunnies,flowers. tea offered as soon as we arrived. fire made every night. loved it.


“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014
If you're looking to stay in a beautiful old manor house out in the countryside, you'll love this place. The owners are warm, friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. My favorite part was the rabbits (soooo cute!) that spend the day grazing on the huge lawn in front of the house. The rooms and house are absolutely spotless. When we were there the woods behind the house were full of bluebells and other wild flowers and the rest of the surrounding countryside is beautiful. Highly recommended!


"Outstanding B&B”
Reviewed 22 October 2013
Fantastic period house B&B full of character in lovely grounds, was matched by the warmth of the welcome and service throughout our stay. Hot drinks and biscuits were provided on arrival in the lounge with the open fire, we asked if we could open a bottle of champange we'd brought to celebrate with our friends, no problem and a tray of glasses was soon provided.

Breakfast in the lovely dining room overlooking the grounds was cooked to perfection, with porridge and a substantial full cooked (to order) Scottish enough to sustain us until dinner.

Our room was large and the bed extremely comfortable.

We'll definitely return.


“Home from home.”

Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile
I had a wonderful stay at Oatfield and was thoroughly looked after. The homecooked breakfast was delicious - a great start to the day after a cosy night's stay. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area!


“Beautiful manor house.”
Reviewed 30 August 2013
Very friendly owners, who have done a great job in renovating an old manor house. A bit out of town, and you need to go out for food. Great breakfast in a lovely dining room. Nice place to stay if you want to explore the Mull of Kintyre.


“Really lovely”
Reviewed 15 August 2013
A lovely country house, just a couple of miles from Campbeltown and a few miles from the golf resort at Machrihanish. Both in easy cycling distance. The room was clean, very comfortable and spacious. The decor and furnishing is traditional country style, just right for the house. The grounds were beautiful (albeit helped by the sunshine).

The owners were very friendly and welcoming. Overall, exactly how a B&B should be.


“Perfect”
Reviewed 10 August 2013
We were so happy to stay at the Oatfield House. We golfed all day, and returned to a clean, quiet beautiful environment, with kind respectful hosts. I cannot say enough about this exceptional b and b. The breakfast was delicious, the house is located in a perfect center location, an easy drive to all the golf courses. It would be hard to reach if you were without a car, though. I would recommend this fine B&B to anyone who is visiting Kintyre.


“Feel like a Lord or Lady”
Reviewed 30 July 2013
This was a gorgeous manor house on a lovely estate yet very near to the quite busy town of Campbeltown. Had a beautiful room and it was amazing to hear the owls in the woods during the night (although it was light most of the " night" ) and, well, it was all just so relaxing. Definitely would return.


"Traivellers Joy”

Reviewed 17 June 2013
I had the pleasure of staying over at the Oatfield House B&B on a short trip to plan a lengthier visit to the Kintyre Peninsula in the future. The house is only a few minutes drive from Campbeltown on the B842 from Stewarton. It nestles in a wooded area off the road at the end of a long driveway. This makes for a very peaceful location and a quiet nights rest. The Cowan's are a lovely couple and the house has a welcoming lounge with a real fire place and comfortable surroundings. My accommodation was excellent with room and furnishings to a high standard. Breakfast in the stately dining room was superb with the option of a bowl of porridge to start the day and any other option of cereals, cooked breakfast, juices/teas/coffee.
The grounds have gardens to front and rear and there is a pathway to the woodland area if you feel like a stroll to work off breakfast.
All in, a fabulous place to stay if you are planning to visit this part of the Kintyre Peninsula and highly recommended.


“Lovely home and a welcoming hostess”
Reviewed 13 April 2013
We have recently returned from a three night stay at Oatfield House. The house is a well-loved home and the pride of the owner Lesley in it is very evident. We were lucky to chose room 2 which is the largest of the three rooms (very large) and extremely well appointed. Breakfast is taken in the dining room at a stately table and there is snug tv room with a log fire for colder evenings. We never needed the tea making facilities in the room as Lesley was always quick to bring us a cup to the lounge whenever we arrived back after a day exploring. Cannot imagine that anyone would be less than delighted with a stay here.


“A lovely old homestead”
Reviewed 17 October 2012
Large homestead with large rooms. Tucked away about a mile off the road. We were made very welcome with a cup of tea and a snack. The nights were a bit cool and the host and hostess lit the fire for us in the guest's lounge room. Lovely breakfast including home-made porridge. Made very welcome by the family at all times and they respected our privacy. Sad to leave and would definitely go back.


“Fantastic B&B!”
Reviewed 26 August 2012
The welcoming atmosphere at Oatfield House was second to none, I was treated as part of the family and Lesley and her family were delightful, attentive hosts with extensive local knowledge and tips on all the best places to visit. It was rather rainy weather during my stay, but returning to a roaring log fire, accompanied soon after by tea, coffee and bisuits definitely helped me dry out. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable, and there are electric blankets on the beds which must be a real luxury in winter to crawl into a pre-heated bed! The house and gardens were lovely; the sitting room and dining room carefully decorated with antiques, old books, maps and photographs. The breakfast including homemade porridge was delicious and plentiful, perfect in preparation for a day of exploring. Overall, easily the best B&B I have had the pleasure to stay in and would highly recommend, worth every penny.


“A Manse house in a quiet setting”
Reviewed 26 July 2012
Lesley and son George treated us like long lost family. They were great host and did a fantastic job taking care of all our needs. Although our room was small it was clean and comfortable. The house is a good example of an 1800s manse.


“Top B&B”
Reviewed 31 May 2012
Had a lovely stay at Oatfield, High standard, friendly and helpful hosts.


“Relaxation, relaxation, relaxation”
Reviewed 20 May 2012
No evening meals but breakfasts are good and wholesome.
Rooms are quiet and spacious with good views. Stayed several times and would go back again too. Delightful owners and the Shelties love apples and strokes.


“Lovely old mansion House in quiet setting”
Reviewed 7 May 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight at Oatfield House which is a lovely old mansion house near Campbeltown on the Southend road. Leslie & John are delightful friendly hosts. Our bedroom was large with lots of charming features . Very quiet with no traffic - slept really well Super breakfast with real porridge seated at huge dinning table and served at a time to suit our needs - early. Nice dinner at Craigard Hotel in Campbeltown.


“Fantastic, lovely, relaxing, perfect”
Reviewed 6 December 2011
I have been to Oatfield for two visits in November and used it for my business stopover.
Its the best place that I have been to in this part of the country and I would highly recommend it to others. The people are just lovely and so helpful, offering to dry my wet clothes for me on my return, and there was always a pot of tea and biscuits waiting for me after a cold day out. The house has a very relaxing quality to it and i will definitely be going back.


“The Joys of Oatfield House”

Reviewed 6 October 2011
Oatfield House B&B succeeds in combining the warmth of a traditional family feeling with generous amenities for its guests in a rich historical setting. The comfort we felt there was rare. In addition, our hostess, Leslie, gave kind attention to personal detail. Oatfield House deserves the full maximum of 5 stars… it is worth even more. John, Toronto, Canada


“generousity in all areas, amicable conversation, relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 October 2011
The Oatfield Guest House (a fully restored 18th century mansion) is permeated with refinement. The sensitive taste which a person percieves throughout Leslie's home, together with her down to earth, authentic care for the well-being of her guests, individually, gave us a very unique experience. The freshness of the white, fluffy bedding and the comfortable bed itself guaranteed excellent sleep. The bathroom and shower facilites were spotless and inviting.
Leslie's breakfast was the most generous on our trip (I had the feeling.. fresh and organic from local country producers). I wish we could have stayed longer.


“Extremely friendly-we're going back.”
Reviewed 5 September 2011
Lovely traditional guest house set in its own grounds. The owners are extremely accommodating and couldn't have done more for us. The rooms are lovely and the breakfast was one of the best we've had. It's one of the best in the Campbeltown area.


“Magnificent B and B”
Reviewed 31 August 2011
Oatfield is a most beautiful large country house set in quiet countryside.

The rooms are immaculate and the beds were very comfortable and ensuite facilities were first class.

Lesley was most welcoming and in the evenings we were able to sit around with other guests in the huge lounge with a roaring log fire and endless coffee.

Would recommend this B and B wholeheartedly and if we are in the area again will definately stay here.


“An absolutely delightful B&B!”
Reviewed 7 August 2011
If you're looking for a tranquil location to enjoy this stunning part of Scotland, then I would highly recommend Oatfield House. The hosts welcome you into their beautiful home and the atmosphere is completely relaxed. The lounge, with its open fire, is for guests to sit in and chill out. The rooms are full of character and very clean. Great breakfast with the addition of porridge cooked overnight on the aga! Just a wonderful place to stay in and I look forward to our next visit.


“wonderful place to relax”
Reviewed 1 July 2011
We came to Campbeltown in plain thunderstorm and it was such a luck to find this marvellous site to survive. It was the best B&B stay we experienced on our tour through Scotland. The house is very interesting with its history and the hospitality of the owners is fabulous. Unfortunately we had rain all the day and could not enjoy the peaceful surroundings of the house in plain countryside, far away from noise and pollution.
But we always will remember the hours at the fireplace in the cosy living room and the home made porridge for breakfast....


“A Very Lovely House with an Interesting History”

Reviewed 14 June 2011
Oatfield House is a large, lovely home that has been carefully restored and decorated. with beautiful furnishings and antiques. It is set in the countryside in a quiet location about 1/3 mile from the road. Our host and hostess gave us a very pleasant welcome. They were kind enough to recommend a local restaurant for dinner and to phone ahead for reservations. When we returned after dinner, our hostess served tea and crackers in the lounge in front of a crackling fireplace. We had the opportunity to have a very pleasant chat with a nice English couple who were also staying there. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The grounds were lovely and we had a view of the walled wildflower garden from our bedroom. Our only complaint is that there was no television in our room, although one was available in the lounge.


“Warm Welcome and great hospitality”
Reviewed 2 June 2011
Just as the sign at the end of the drive to Oatfield House states: A warm welcome. Lesley is a warm, friendly and considerate host. We stayed 2 nights and she lit a fire in the guest sitting room each night and ensured we had cups of hot tea or coffee and chocolate biscuits to eat.
We were 2 couples tracing our family associations in the area. Our bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and one of our number played the piano in the dining room.
A delightful family home. We enjoyed our stay. The surrounding area is beautiful.


“A wonderful place to stay in a beautiful setting!”

Reviewed 22 February 2011
We were met with a warm welcome from Lesley in their stunning family home and immediately felt looked after as we relaxed with coffee in front of an open fire.

The bedroom was clean and fresh with beautiful views across the garden and woods and a cosy night's stay was followed by a delicious home cooked breakfast in the dining room the next morning.

I would thoroughly recommend staying at Oatfield House for anyone visiting the local area!


“relaxing in Argyll”
Reviewed 20 February 2011
personal,caring,attention given to all visitors.
my room was well apointed and comfortable;a home from home.
a wonderfully relaxing house set in a picturesque gardened state overlooking the sea provising stunning sunsets and sun rises.
The owners are genuinely caring hosts offering their visitors a trully comfortable home and "hotel".


“Lovely, peaceful setting.”
Reviewed 18 September 2010
Oatfield House is in a beautiful setting near Campbeltown. The country house is very peaceful and provides ample breakfasts. The sitting room with fireplace is nice and cozy. Location provides a nice escape from hustle and bustle of urban life. Don't miss driving out to the Mull of Kintyre lighthouse--less than 1/2 hour away. Beatiful scenery wherever you look.


“Beautiful house - peaceful setting”
Reviewed 21 June 2010
We have stayed in many nice B&Bs. The Oatfield House is one of the finest homes that we have visited. A lovely farm house, near the main road to Southend. There are two lovely Shetland ponies in the paddock near the house. All of this a five minute drive from the 1st tee at Machrihanish. A very pleasant and comfortable stay.


“lovely and tranquil”
Reviewed 12 June 2009
my husband and two friends stayed here for one night only, we all wished we could have stayed longer. We were made to feel very welcome and very much at home,the rooms were very spacious and comfortable, there was a tray with two kinds of coffee and numerous types of teabags, when we returned after our evening meal Lesley made us tea and coffee and had lit a very waming log fire in the sitting room. We retired to bed and after a good nights sleep we went down to be greeted with a lovely well coooked breakfast. John and Lesley were very attentive and i would thoroughly recommend if you ever get the chance to go and stay at Oatfield House.


“The nicest place in Campbel town”

Reviewed 29 January 2009
After shopping for and visiting a few hotels and BNB's in and around Campbeltown, I found the perfect getaway- the Oatfield house. Worth a visit just for the beauty and history of the house and surrounding landscape, staying there was a real treat. Clean, quiet, and very comfortable are descriptions that come to mind. The Cowan family was extremely hospitable, the room I had was excellent, and as a business owner I really appreciated the high speed wireless internet. (A rarity in the area-and unfortunately I have to stay connected with the States even while I travel) The private bathroom with a huge tub and hot towels was heaven after a long day surfing, and the authentic porridge and Scottish breakfast were amazing. If you want to experience the true Scottish countryside at it's finest (why else would one come to this lovely region?) this is the place for you. Most of the other lodgings I looked at were either too "rustic", too commercial, not worth the price, or just dirty. I would recommend the Oatfield house to anyone, they really have a great combo of value, comfort, cleanliness, and the wonderful experience of staying in a historic old house with very nice hosts.

 
   

© Copyright: L E Cowan, 2007 - 2017. All Rights Reserved.